Archery | Scoring Errors
Articles Blog

Archery | Scoring Errors

August 18, 2019


[shhh-thunk] For those of you followed the World
Archery Championships in Copenhagen, you may have come across one of the biggest
upsets ever seen. There were some surprises, for example, the bottom seeded
Ukrainian team actually won the championship, but the one I’m talking about
was something much bigger and much more controversial. This was the elimination
of the top American compound shooter Reo Wilde. In the second qualification round
Reo Wilde scored 342 out of 360. A very respectable score.
However, the signed score that was submitted by Reo Wilde reflected 242, a hundred
points lower. What this meant was that instead of finishing in the top ten,
Reo Wilde finished 115th in the field, eliminating himself from the
tournament, as well as the American team. Apparently what happened was that when
Reo Wilde signed his score card he saw the value of 342.
However, when it was submitted to the judges and put into the system, the
judges saw 242. Apparently it was a handwriting issue. To one person it was a 3,
to another person a 2. The American team appealed the decision. The panel of judges of World
Archery ruled in favor of the 242 score which meant that the decision stood, and
Wilde and the American team were eliminated. This may surprise you because
the arrow values added up to 342. The score is there. It’s just that they have
a different signed total. Well, according to World Archery rules,
this is how it’s meant to be done. If there are two score cards, and there always is,
and in World Archery’s case there’s usually a paper scorecard and the electronic score card, the lower total is used. Not the arrow
values. The arrow values in a smaller tournament that’s run by a local
regional board, the organizers may have time to go through and check score cards, but in a large tournament with hundreds of
competitors it’s not feasible for the organizers to manually count up every single
value, even though the values are here. They take the signed total as the final score,
and if there is a discrepancy between two score cards, in this case the paper and
the electronic version, then the lower total is used. The onus, according to World
Archery, is on the archer to verify the scorecard is correct, that
the score is accurate, and that they sign and submit the version which is correct, and
in this case there was a misunderstanding or miss reading of
someone’s hand writing and that resulted in this decision being made, and obviously I wasn’t there, I can’t comment further than what’s been
reported, but that’s what happened. The ruling stood, and they’ve chosen to make
this a huge message. And who is this message to?
Actually this message is for you. Scoring errors happen all the time. If you’ve ever
shot a competition, even just a normal round where you had to fill out a scorecard, you may have
made a lot of mistakes, and some of them you don’t even realize. The problem is that
this data is critical for a lot of people. If you shoot in a club
environment then your club recorder has probably given you flak for having
mistakes. It’s happened a lot to us as well. This escalates as you get higher up
the chain of importance. The state recorder needs the correct data from
clubs in order to issue the right records and badges and awards. So, if you
don’t provide accurate and correctly filled out scorecards, instead of having it go back
to you and say “here, fix it up” they simply throw it out.
That’s a problem. There are a lot of headaches which happen because of this.
So, in the end it’s up to you as the archer to make sure that your card is
filled out correctly. So, what are some of the most common
errors that can happen? I’ll cover how to complete score cards in a different
video. Here we’re going to simulate the scorecard being filled out. This is a
standard score card from Archery Australia, which is likely identical to the scorecards
you use in club shoots. Obviously check that your basic details are correct:
your name, round, classification, and so on. This can obviously invalidate your score card
if incorrect. Though this may seem straightforward, you have to get your name right. Using a different name may result in
your scorecard being recognized under a different name. For example, if Leo used
“Leonard” on some scorecards, the recorder may input the result under a different name.
I’ve seen the state rankings list multiple names for the same archer at
different ranks, and their points are not combined for their actual rank. All the
small details on the card must also be filled correctly. Distances must be recorded and
the totals written down after each end and the summary at the end. This is the
biggest cause of scorecard problems making sure the arrow values are correct.
Since the total score is derived from the arrow values, any errors must be
recognized and clarified. Mistakes do happen. Sometimes the person calling the
values might get it wrong or you heard incorrectly and wrote down the wrong number. Don’t panic. This is easily fixed, but you
must be clear about it. If a value is incorrect cross out the value and write
the correct value next to it. Do not try to write over the value!
This causes a lot of confusion and is not recognized as a legitimate value. Once
the error has been recognized and clarified, all archers on that target must
initial the change. If changes are not initialed, even if it’s just one error,
the entire scorecard is invalidated. The end totals do not need to be initialed
as the arrow value takes precedence. Most official events require double scoring.
In this case two people must independently record the scores and
cross check to see that the running totals are the same.
This is actually a rather effective method of catching arithmetic errors, however,
the scorers must add the scores independently. They cannot simply copy off each other. Oh, and if you’re not using double
scoring for your round, you should. If it’s an official sanctioned event, it’s
more or less a requirement. If it’s a small club shoot, even though you don’t have to
do it, it’s a really good habit to do it. One, it trains archers in the scoring system
so you’re not relying on the same one or two people to score everything.
Secondly, it catches the small errors which happen in the field, and they
happen. It’s very common. Mental arithmetic can be confusing.
Some people are just really bad at it, but more commonly it’s the result of fatigue.
If you’ve been shooting for hours, half the day, then getting those
numbers to add up on the page can be very stressful. So, mistakes do happen and
that’s fine. There’s nothing wrong with that as long as they’re spotted, and by having two
people cross check the results after every end then you have a much higher
chance of catching any errors which happen. There was an event that our
club hosted. A club shoot where we didn’t have enough scorecards to double score,
so we had to use single scoring. It was a bit about oversight in our logistics, and
the result was that we gave the junior trophy to the wrong person
because the person who was scoring made a calculation error and gave himself an extra 10
points. So the result was very disappointing because it was a very intense
one on one competition. They were a few points apart, but the guy who came in second
actually came in first all along and he never knew that. So, it was very embarrassing to have to take back the trophy and give it back
to the right person, and this could have been avoided with double scoring. Once the
scorecard is complete the values must be accurately totaled, including the number of
10s and Xs. Take any awards that are to be claimed. Check that every box is filled in
correctly and every arrow value change is initialed. It is the responsibility of the
archer to check that everything is correct when they sign it.
Oh, and you may want to make sure your handwriting is clear.
Just saying! So what happens if you submit an incorrect scorecard?
Depending on the size of the event and the organizers, they may chase you up and ask
you to ammend small errors, and this is most common for people who forget to initial
changes. If they can’t find you, or there’s too many people, they might simply invalidate
your score card. That might mean you can’t claim any awards or badges for your score,
and you might miss out on placing in the event. So, it’s really, really important
that you make sure and YOU make sure, don’t ask somebody else to double check, but YOU
make sure that your scorecard is correct. Again, it may seem like such a pain
to go through his paperwork and make sure the score is correct, but you’re making it
easier for your club recorder if you do it correctly. Otherwise, you might find
your scorecard invalidated, you’re placing stripped, and perhaps even your
spot in the World Championships taken away! Anyway, this is NUSensei. I hope you found this helpful.
Thanks for watching, I’ll see you next time

Only registered users can comment.

  1. This is absolutely stupid – because in this case, this wasn't a summing error, this was a handwriting error.  There aren't THAT many ends – the judges don't have to add it up manually, they can simply eyeball it to see if there are mostly 9/10s or 6/7s (literally what would be required to sum to 242). 

    I appreciate the idea of the rule that archers are responsible for their scorecards.  But if both the archer and his scoring partner agree on a score, both sign off on it, and both believed it was 100 points off of the judges, then it's on the judges to say "oh, we didnt read it correctly, sorry – we'll post the adjustment." 

    Honestly, as an auditor of hedge funds, even an eyeballing of the score isn't necessary – the first step should be a reasonableness test.  If a person who is ranked #1 from a given country gets a 242, it's probably wrong! 

    Handwriting, dude…

  2. I stand by my original mindset that I've had from the moment I heard about this and fully understood what was going on. "L2Write, noob" should never ever ever be a legitimate reason to eliminate ANY archer, let alone one of the highest ranked compound archers in the world. Not only that, but to drag out the whole USAT mens compound team with him? That flat out just isn't right. This has ZERO reflection on the skill or professionalism of the person in question. It was a simple clerical error that they REFUSED TO AMEND even with blatant proof that his score was, in fact, 324 and not 242. This incident makes me lose faith in FITA as being a fair and professional organization.

  3. This is why i only score for fun .ironicly. I took
    First place in a shoot because i was the only
    Target recurve in my gender and age group
    Present . The three target recurve shooters present .all in diffrent age and gender catagories all took first . I was joking that we should miss on purpose just for the fun of winning with a zero score . We didnt of course! and had fun among ourselves. I came in second of the three ,shooting target recurve. watch reo wilde. Crush in worclaw.

  4. If some of the rules about scoring seem odd, think about this: A gold medal is better than a silver medal and a silver medal is better than a bronze medal, right? To get a bronze medal you have to win. To get a silver medal you have to LOSE! LOL

  5. I think i figured out the real reason behind this whole mess. Team America (great movie named that, btw hehe) has been winning almost all the medals every year forever. Archers in other countries with teams, other countries considering starting a team have to be thinking "Why we should bother? Always is winning only American team"( hehe) But really it's in the best interest of the organization, the sponsors, all other existing teams, all possible future teams, individual archers, and the sport as a whole for anything bad that could happen to the american team , should happen. LOL I wouldn't be supprized if we see more undotted "i"s and uncrossed "t"s keeping only the American team out of matches:)

  6. Hi NUSensei.
    Greg Norman [golf] INVENTED the specialised `tent` for just the golfer's to go through their scorecard.
    In the absence of photojournalists and pesky fans begging for autographs, there became a higher chance of NOT MAKING scoring errors at the end of the round. Greg Norman was sick of simple errors being made. (two score cards: the player and the marker).
    Keep up the good videos.

  7. With all due respect, if I can prove that the judges merely misread my handwriting, and they just go "Yeah? Well, fuck you" then you just convinced me to never attend any archery competition ever.
    Its akin to why I never went to kick-box tournaments. Once there was a guy, who was a judge usually with the tournaments, who decided to act as a judge on our training session, to give us a taste of how he would do if our sparring was in a competition. Blatantly ignored clear hits to head and body sometimes, and there was no place appeal his any decision. Goes without saying that for some reason none of us decided to join the competitive part of the team.

    Are all sport judges such dicks? I mean I see it now in archery, I've seen it in kick-box, I've heard about it boxing.

  8. Basically there is no sport where the athletes have any influence over the scoring process. Its all handled by dedicated professionals. Why this mistake could be made to begin with makes no sense. Hundreds of competitors per round isnt even that much to electronically track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *